PSU and processor compatibility questions. Piece o' cake. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2005, 02:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
Default PSU and processor compatibility questions. Piece o' cake.

I'm sure you guys get bombarded with some technical stuff. I have quite a few questions, but they're pretty general. I've already been through the tough stuff a month ago when my main machine took a dive, but now I'm on the hunt for a new processor and power supply.

My current specs are:
Asus A7N8X-X motherboard
256 mb Corsair ram
2 x Maxtor 80GB hard-drives
Sony CD-RW
Micro Advantage DVD-RW
(AMD Athlon XP 2500+ processor that died, power supply that died)

Basically, I have my items picked out, but have a few questions:

1) I'm using up about 350 watts for my system, but found this sweet 500 watt PSU. Will it be eating up more electricity if I use it for my stuff, or is it just that I have up to 500 watts if I wish?
2) I don't know if the PSU supports an Athlon XP, Socket A. It says "Pentium/AMD ready", but does that mean it supports my processor? Speaking of which, on to the processor...
3) AMD Athlon XP 2800+, Socket A and Asus A7N8X-X motherboard? Any problem with this combo?
4) The processor is retail, what type of "thermal" paste/pad/etc comes with it? Any tips on applying it would help. This processor will be kept in my PC long-term, until it dies.

PS, I will not be overclocking or anything of that sort. I use my PC pretty simplistically for web browsing, movie playing and music listening. Thanks to you all in advance!
__________________

Suidakra is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

1: A 500 watt PSU will put out more power yes. But the PSU does not run at max all the time. If you are only using 250 watts of power, what it takes in from the wall (and wallet) will be half. Infact, if you get a good PSU with a better efficency, even at full load a good brand name 500 watt would use less than a 350 watt PSU if both were maxed out.

2: What PSU are you talking about, DO NOT GET A CHEAP NO NAME BRAND 500 WATT PSU.

3: No problem.

4: You will get the aquadrate cooling witha retail processor, and it comes with instructions.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

4) most retail processor, well my 3200+ came with thermal tape on the bottom, i believe the 3000+ comes with a thermal pad. im not sure about socket a but it will come with some time of thermal thingy on the bottom, so you would be fine. if you wish, you can buy an aftermarket heatsink and some artic silver 5 to lower your temps but retail is fine^^
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
Default

Thank you two!

By the way, the power supply is 520 watts, not 500. My mistake. It is located here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817193004

Sky Hawk/Eagle Tech ATX-GM520SC 520W Power Supply
Suidakra is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I think you would be better off with this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153006
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
Default

Thanks, DJ.

Have you ever heard of/about the Sky Hawk PSU I posted? What would you think about this one also:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817159023
Suidakra is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 03:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

You should only get PSUs from the following brands:

Thermaltake, Antec, OCZ, Ennermax, and PCP&C.

Everything else blows
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 04:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Their's more to that list, Forton and Sparkle can go on their.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.