PSU problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2006, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Default PSU problems?

Just finished new 1st system build, got windows all installed and updated, installed drivers for my other cards. And was in the middle of installing F.E.A.R. and the whole thing just powers down. Now when I press the power I get a weird Pop sort of sound coming from the PSU. Nothing else, no fans nothing. The PSU is a Enermax Liberty 500w. And I don't have dual anything going on. The only problem I can see was there was 6 fans on it, do they take much power? And is there a way to "reset" my PSU if it's just a fuse/breaker?

both your threads have been merged. you do not need to post multiple threads on exactly the same topic

Soon2bAConsoler is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 12:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35

Buy a new one. Get an Antec, Aspire, something reliable. On my old machine I had a 430W Antec running 5 fans, 3 hard drives, X800XL, and some other things ... I never had any issues.

silentex is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 04:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269

i would return the psu and get a new one and hope it didn't damage any of your other parts. If you jsut finished buildign it it should have a warrenty atleast 30day warrenty unless it was used and you ebayed it. But other then that i don't know what to tell you but to get a new one which would be more money if the psu came with the case i would advise you to get a new psu, usually the ones that came with the cases are usually not to good unless its a antec PSU which is a whole differnt story but try that and see what happens.
schulz269 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 05:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

enermax is a high quality psu brand , no way it burned any other parts but itself so you got nothin to worry about that
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

if it is still under warranty, RMA the PSU. it's dead, and trying to use it might cause damage to your computer
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.