Is this psu not enough? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 11:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Looks like there's nothing I can do. It didn't run when I put it on the table. Too bad.
__________________

Eleaf is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 11:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Alright. Then what's the minimum wattage and ampherage is required for this motherboard/cpu/video card? I really need help now.
__________________

Eleaf is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 10:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Just take it to a PC Specialist or something, ive just recently built my own PC aswell and after about 1 hour the screen went fuzzy and my monitor turned off... (****-take) lol, so now ive sent my gfx card back and i have 2 wait 4 ages :'-(.
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Eleaf
Alright. Then what's the minimum wattage and ampherage is required for this motherboard/cpu/video card? I really need help now.
We donn't know your components.

Post links to them.

And just for future reference. regaurdless of what your dad says, Putting components ONTOP of a Anti-Static bag is not a good idea.

As I have said before theres more Static on the outside of the bag since its susposed to keep static out of the bag and protect whatever is inside of it.

Start RMAing Parts.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Plug in the PSU, and hotwire the green and any black cable with a paper clip, does it turn on?

Did you plug the speaker in? Does it beep?


Edit: 12amps is not enough for a modern system. get a new PSU. Antec make good PSU's that are not too pricey. Fortron and Enermax are good. 18amps should be the minimum.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 07:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

No way ever am I taking this to some "PC specialist". What do you take me for? lol

I tried it with the other motherboard, and the psu powers up fine, with the psu fan etc. But with this motherboard, not even the psu fan comes on. I'm guessing by this that it's at the very edge, and it doesn't have enough power to power it's own fan! It requests too much energy and just the whole thing shorts out.
My dad's friend has a server that he is giving me, and maybe I can swap out psu's, considering servers usually have more amphrage/wattage than compared to desktop pc's at the time. Considering that they may have to deal with dual processors or a large amount of drives.

If that doesn't work, I suppose I'll have to get a new one. I would have to be extremely cheap with this, and I know a psu usually isn't something you want to be cheap on.

But I'd really need something that is very inexpensive. Any reccomendations for a PSU? Thanks for your help.
Eleaf is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

How does this look?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023
Eleaf is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 09:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Ahhk. Ok, I really need help with this. As for I need to make a decision fast!

Will that psu be ok for my setup??
Eleaf is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:00 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Ok, It's been a few days, and absolutely no response.
Eleaf is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:53 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Yea that PSU's fine
__________________

Kilew is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.