PSU Ideas. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2006, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default PSU Ideas.

Im about to purchase the following for my new pc:


AMD Athlon 3500 AM2 socket
Nvidia Geforce 7600GT
Gigabyte motherboard featuring PCI-E x16 , AM2 Socket
Western Digtal 7200RPM 8MB Cahce 160GB Hard Disk
1GB DDR2 Budget Ram (Cant afford anything else)

Im also looking to buy a case with a built in 350wat PSU, Does anyone have any comments on this, are built in PSU's Bad ? Is 350wat enough for all of that ?



Many Thanks
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 07:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Cases that come with PSUs are ok but is not really recommended and reliable. The PSU is one of the top priorities in your system, because if it fails, it could take your whole system with it. Here's a good PSU I use:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 07:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
Cases that come with PSUs are ok but is not really recommended and reliable. The PSU is one of the top priorities in your system, because if it fails, it could take your whole system with it. Here's a good PSU I use:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953
Second,

There is also a 450w version you may want.
turtile is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Ok then i'll skip the case and spend the money on just a PSU.

Im going to spend about 50 pounds on a PSU as i want quality as im not risking loosing all my parts.

Anybody have any aideas on how this should be ?> http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/116522
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Here is the one mentioned above from a UK store (don't know which stores are best)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-006-SK
turtile is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Ok thanks
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.