PSU graphics cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2006, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 14
Default PSU graphics cards

this is my power supply:

EXISTING PSU SPECS:
NMB Model # MJPC-300A1 Made 2003 Part#SN121J300PCW-1
+ 5V - 28A Max / +3.3V - 13A Max / +12V - 17A Max
-12V - 0.2A Max / +12VSP - 1.2A Max LPS Output
Aux - +5VB - 1.8A Max
+12V, +12VSP - Total 209W Max
+5V, +3.3V - Total 165W Max
DC Total - 295.4W Max

what kind of cards are good for me that are within the psu range? also i saw this card i like but has a minimum req 300W, will it work for me? and will this card :http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16814145118, work?
__________________

arigmatic is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

What are the specs of the rest of your computer?

I don't see 300 watts getting you too far, with a graphics card. Not only would it not work, if it did, your system would be crutched with the limited power (ie; you might experience random reboots, sluggish CPU performance)
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 14
Default fe

here is my computer

http://www.shopdigitalonline.com/pro...?productid=127

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/tec...638227?ie=UTF8
arigmatic is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 10:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Oooh. Expensive looking.

If I were you, I'd just get a new PSU. It's the best way to go. Just get a good brand name like Antec or Enermax.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

May I suggest the Thermaltake TR2-430W?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023
http://search.ncix.com/displayproduc...re=THERMALTAKE

A good friend of mine recommended me this one about 9 months back. I must say, it was one of the best investments I've ever made regarding the computer hardware.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 11:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

With 300W, you'd be cutting it pretty close. The very minimum you could go with is 300W if you were to get a decent vid card. However, a good policy is to go about 100W more than your minimum required power. That means you should be looking at 400W to 450W.

A PSU like this one would be nice:
OCZ ModStream OCZ45012U ATX/BTX/PCI Express/SATA 450W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104154

With a PSU like this you could go with a 6800GS or a 7800GS, which are some of the better AGP cards.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 03:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 14
Default ugh

i dont think i will be getting a new PSU. so i guess that card is out. so is this card ok for me? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130197


its situations like these that make me HATE how fast computer technology moves. i mean honestly, my computer is barely 2 years old
arigmatic is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

It's gonna be hard to play soon with that card...
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

You're cutting it so close with that PSU you have now. Compaq probably put that PSU in for leeway for new RAM, a new CPU, maybe another hard drive, but I don't think they include a video card in that calculation...

In short, you need a new PSU, simply because if you don't get one, you'll most likely be pushing the PSU past it's limits with a video card, and that never makes good things happen.

P.S.: I wouldn't reccomend Thermaltake, Arumuni. They do make some okay PSU's, but they aren't very consistant in quality. They make a lot of lemons.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.