PSU causing lag problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2009, 02:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default PSU causing lag problems?

Hey yall,

I've recently been trying to get my 6-7 or so year old computer back into gaming. I used to be able to play just fine but an old video card died and crap got built up on this computer. I've got great advice recently from yall here on a video card upgrade and a RAM upgrade. I can now actually play BF2 decently. However, I still have some to be desired from what I can remember this computer used to play when I first started a few years back.

Right now I'm running a:
Dell Dimension 8300
Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
2.99GHz, 2.00GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 AGP 4X/8X video card
(I'm not real knowledgeable on computers so if I missed things please point them out)

When I run BF2(Project Reality) right now I get pretty bad lag with settings on 1024x768 with medium settings. I turned it down to 800x600 with all high settings and things seem a little better but not where I think they should be. Seems like some of the graphics are still slightly choppy/blurred too. I'm pulling about 15fps when the screen is full of objects and between 20-30fps when I'm in tight around things.

Anyway, on to my question. I'm wondering; can an under-rated PSU cause these problems? I didn't think about it until earlier but the new video card does mention on the box about having a minimum 450W power supply. I don't know what I've got but it's whatever came stock with this computer so it's probably not to high-end. Could a new PSU fix these issues?

Thank you so much in advance.
__________________

Mazer18 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 02:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

It is possible.

You can open up the case and look at the psu. It will give you watts and amps.

Post that information up here.

Unfortunately Dell does not use high end power supplies in their computers.
The good news is if you get a good one you can use it for a future build and put the crappy one back in the dell.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 02:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

I just took a look at the PSU. All of the information was on the bottom so it was tough to get a good look at and I couldn't find an amp rating. I did see that it's rated for only 305W though.
Mazer18 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

It will be a poorly rated 305 as well. The problem that I am seeing is that while the 8300 appears to use a standard atx power supply the cutout for the back is an issue. People are having to do a little cutting to get replacement power supplies to work.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

Yeah, I've been searching on google and read that too. A search led me to this link which sells specific Dell-compatible power supplies. Do you think this looks legitimate? Dell Upgrade Power Supplies from PC Power & Cooling
Mazer18 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

yes, PC power and cooling makes very good PSU's and that will work.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 06:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
yes, PC power and cooling makes very good PSU's and that will work.
Sounds good. You think it would fit fine too? I don't mind cutting but only if I absolutely have to and there's no way around.

I've never swapped a PSU before but is it basically just disconnect old PSU wires and slide old PSU out. Then slide new PSU in, connect new PSU wires and you're good to go?

Another question...My link mentions something about that PSU using PCI Express connectors. Will there be a problem if I'm still using an AGP video card?
Mazer18 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 06:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

it should fit.

yes, just be sure to remember to hook every thing back up.

and it will not have a problem powering your 3850.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: PSU causing lag problems?

Sounds great. Thanks so much to both Hefemeister and philbar71. I really do appreciate the knowledge yall carry at this site.
__________________

Mazer18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
260GTX and another hard drive on my 460W PSU? jamaicaska New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-07-2008 07:48 AM
malfunctioning psu harry0591 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2008 08:43 PM
Two problems: Video editor causing connection issues and a task manager problem Kegan Microsoft Windows and Software 12 03-07-2008 04:09 AM
svchost.exe causing all kinds of problems. Disillusion Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-24-2007 03:11 AM
External Hard Drive causing problems mel6280 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-15-2007 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.