Is this PSU adequate? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 05:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Is this PSU adequate?

I am planning on building today, and I have got a last minute concern. I have got a 400W NorthQ PSU (this is a good brand in the UK but it hasn’t moved into the US yet) with 15A on the +12V. I need to urgently know if this will be enough to run:

MSI P35 Plat
Samsung 500GB
Antec 900
E6300
X1950PRO

Thanks for feedback.

EDIT: I will be overclocking the processor heavily and overvolting the chipset etc.
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

No, not near enough.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

Definitely not.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

Okay i wont use it as i really dont want to endanger all of my new shiny parts. Do you think that I should go with PCP&C Silencer 610W for 65, or Corsair VX450 for 45?
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

This one is quite good for the money.....4 12v rails @ 18a each
OCZ StealthXStream 600w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply

Or there's always the Corsair VX450 with 1 36a rail...
Corsair VX 450W ATX PSU (CMPSU-450VXUK)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

Thats a good price on the PCP&C Silencer 610W....definitely go with that.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

Well ive got to buy from CCL as there only a 15 minuite drive away from me its really good to have such a good retailer so close to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Thats a good price on the PCP&C Silencer 610W....definitely go with that.
Buy OCZ 610W S61EPS Power Supply*S610EPS from CCL - Online Retailer of the Year 2006

Do you think its good enough to put in the Hot Deals section?
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

I dunno, thats the lowest price I've seen in the UK but it's not DRASTICALLY lower. Average price seems to be about 70 pounds.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Is this PSU adequate?

Oh yes the price has seemed to drastically fall since OCZ's aquisition of PCP&C. I remember before they cost in the region of 120 and they were also very hard to get in the UK.
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM
Need PSU Suggestions lee42lee System Upgrades 1 10-05-2007 04:16 PM
changing psu from power mac robina_80 Apple and Mac 1 09-28-2007 03:54 AM
PSU Grenaded...Getting a new one... bmxfreakrider New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-25-2007 12:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.