PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2011, 12:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default PSU

hi,

can anyone recommend a good Modular(preferred but not required ) PSU for this system

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
XFX HD-485X-YDDC Radeon HD 4850 XXX 512MB 256-bit GDDR3
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core
2 x G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Acer X223Wbd Black 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor
LG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner Black SATA Model GH22NS30 - OEM
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm Fluid Dynamic CPU Cooler
its 2 years old but i am going to OC a bit and get a new case until i can afford a full new build.

Thanks
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 08:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: PSU

maybe this? though i think it's more than you need.

Newegg.com - Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: PSU

550w should actually be right around the sweet spot for his build.
From guru3d:
Quote:
A single Radeon HD 4850/4870 series requires you to have a 450-500 Watt power supply unit at minimum if you use it in a high-end system, and I think that's barely on the safe side.
Considering the test build used an E8400 @ Stock and 2GB of RAM I'd say 550-600 would be perfect for a build with more RAM that will be OC'd.

Another option would be:
Newegg.com - OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom
$20 more up front, but $5 less after rebate.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: PSU

the Antec is what i have right now , i am looking for something nice that i can carry with me for future builds (i7 ,dual cards etc ) as i am also buying the CM HAF X with it , that's why i am looking for something Modular or with nice cables.

i was looking these two :
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Professional Series HX850 (CMPSU-850HX) 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
or
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply ( either this or the 850 W version)

which one do you think is better and also a good investment for the future ?
zenyora is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: PSU

Depends on what GPU(s) you're looking at for SLi/Crossfire.

If you want to future proof for, lets say the Nvidia GTX 6xx or AMD HD 7xxx series, then you want to go 1000w or higher.
If you want to future proof for a second HD 4850 you certainly want 750W+

I'd say the Corsair HX850 out of those two since it is modular and thats what you're looking for.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: PSU

i thought the GTX6XX can be run with an 850 W , do i really need a 1000 W PSU ??

the EVGA 580 states

Minimum of a 600 Watt power supply
zenyora is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenyora View Post
future builds (i7 ,dual cards etc )
The GTX 580 needs, according to guru3d:
Quote:
GeForce GTX 580
On your average system the card requires you to have a 650 Watt power supply unit.

GeForce GTX 580 in SLI
A second card requires you to add another 250 Watts. You need a 900+ Watt power supply unit if you use it in a high-end system (1 KiloWatt recommended if you plan on any overclocking).
They suggest a 750w for the 6990, so might be able to swing a 1000w for Xfire, though it may need to be a bit juicier.

So, 950-1000w for GTX 580/HD 6990 in SLi/Xfire.
Possibly a 1200w will be able to SLi/Xfire the next gen.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 10:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: PSU

My system is going to be :

i5 2500k
8gb of DDR3 RAM
GeForce 560 ti GPU

I am looking at this for the PSU ..

[h=1]Newegg.com - Antec EarthWatts EA-650 GREEN 650W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Certified 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply[/h]
what do you guys think ? It's 40 shipped at MIR ?
k20a2typer is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 11:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: PSU

I wouldn't get a green for that setup. Green is for low power.

Go for the Corsair TX650.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 01:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: PSU

Uh Oh .. I did buy it because I saw that it was 650 W .. will it work ?
__________________

k20a2typer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.