which psu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2008, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default which psu

ok so i've basically picked all my pc parts but now i have to decide on a psu to go inside

there is 3 i've looked at but i'll tell you my build first (no links due to posting on ps3)

mobo - foxconn intel p35a
cpu - intel Q6600
ram - patriot 4GB (2x 2GB) pc2-6400 extreme professional
hdd - 500GB seagate 32mb
gpu - nVidia geforce 8800 gt with 512 ram
DVD - 1x samsung dvd rw and 1x liteon dvd rom
other - internal card reader, pci usb and creative S/B audlgy sound card
cpu cooler - nexus lxm-8200
case - nexus caterpillar


now the 3 psu's i've looked at are made by nexus, the only difference between the 3 is power and price

so its either 400W at £62, 500W at £77 of the bigger 600W at £84 which would i need
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: which psu

show the PSU's because the Wattage is BS to findout the power of it
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: which psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
show the PSU's because the Wattage is BS to findout the power of it
sorry but like i just said i am posting with my playstation 3 web browser so i can not get the link but if you go on aria.co.uk and search nexus they will pop up
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 08:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: which psu

ok links are here

400W psu
Nexus 400W Modular PSU - Real Silent - Aria Technology

500W psu
Nexus 500W Modular PSU - Real Silent - Aria Technology

600W psu
Nexus 600W Modular PSU - Real Silent - Aria Technology

sorry for 2 posts in a row
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 02:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: which psu

the 500w has 4 12v rails rated at 18 each and an extra 12v rail that 36... get that
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: which psu

UH, whoa whoa whoa..
Stop.

Please refer to the power supply guide linked in signature for reccomended brands.
Nexus is not reccomended... It has never been reccomended any where...

There are many far better power supplies for LESS at that same website, THIS ONE for example..
http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=27954
Corsair 620HX.

There are so many choices at that website, just look at all the "good" brands in the power supply guide.


Nexus............... Shudders...
Ste is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 04:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: which psu

ok thanks guys i now have a 600W OCZ StealthXStream psu in mind

kind of hoping to go for a quite one but that will do
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 04:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: which psu

Those power supplies have been known to have some voltage ripple problems at high loads.

Suggest you chose a different one..
Though it is still better than the others you posted.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 04:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: which psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Those power supplies have been known to have some voltage ripple problems at high loads.

Suggest you chose a different one..
Though it is still better than the others you posted.
ok which world be the best with a ok price
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 05:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: which psu

Well since the highest priced PSU you posted was 84 Vat, using that as the highest price, I would go with any one of the following.

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=29795
Corsair 650W TX Series PSU - Aria Technology
Corsair 620W HX V2 Series Modular PSU - Aria Technology
Tagan 700W 2 Force II PSU - Aria Technology
Enermax Noisetaker 600W ATX V2.0 - Aria Technology
Corsair 520W HX V2 Series Modular PSU - Aria Technology
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.