proposed upgrade, looking for opinions

Status
Not open for further replies.

cwr89

Baseband Member
Heres the specs of my current rig; (I first thought to put it in the high performance but its not that great)

XP Pro
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.33GHz processor
4 Gb Corsair Ballistix DDR2 800 ram
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
Radeon HD 4850
Antec Sonata II case
Antec 1000W PSU

In the last about 2 weeks I've been experiencing intermittent system failing. BSOD to several different stop codes. I've run tons of virus scans and I am currently in the 5th stage of a HDD CHKDSK. but I am leaning more towards this being a hardware issue.

I am thinking now that the options for me are one of the following:

1) reload windows XP

or

2) Buy a new HDD and 4 more gigs of ram, and make the switch right now to windows 7.

I am currently a college student so I have access to 7 ultimate upgrade at a decently low price.

The system was originally built for gaming but I have actually been using it for my school work as I am now doing heavy amounts of video editing in 1080p.
So the upgrade, I would roughly be thinking $80 for the next 1TB hdd and then $45 for 2 more 2 gig sticks of ballistix ram (I am going to stay at 800 even though my mobo's standard is 1200) and then $15 for 7 ultimate upgrade.

you're probably saying why get a new HDD? Well I have a tendency to fill all the space I have, being in film school and working in HD kills space. I like to add new drives and take out the older ones as I shift my work so I really never loose anything without really having to back up anything. It made the last upgrade and fresh windows install (about a year ago) take about 45 minutes.
current drive configuration is 1TB C drive 500GB D drive and 500GB E drive.