processor upgrade? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 04:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

...?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 03:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Regarding your cooling problem, get a software sensor to test your temperatures, use something like Motherboard Monitor 5.

Now for your cpu, since you don't want to get a new board or a new comp, then you'll have to get a better XP processor. When you say you can't use XP 3200+, how do you know that? I would assume your socket supports up to 3200+, which is the fastest XP processor out.

Whatever you do, be sure to solve that cooling problem first.
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 01:02 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

xp-m and fast ram?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 01:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081
65.50
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130514
72

and
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537
140$ 3000
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
152$ 3200

= roughly 220$ dependent on what you get. If you go for the asrock and 3000 it is very close to your budget

note: both mobo's are agp

on the bad side: Your ram may not be compatable, in which you would either need new ram or shouldn't buy anything I suggested above.
__________________

__________________
PcMe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.