processor upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default processor upgrade?

I am currently running a amd athlon xp 2000+, evga 6600 gt 128 mb with 1gb of ram.
I was wondering if an upgrade to a athlon 3000+ would significantly impact my framerates while playing a high demanding game such as WoW.
I have a feeling that I can only run mid settings in-game because of my slow processor.
fyi:
My mobo is Socket A so I believe a athlon 3000 is the most it can handle and I've had this processor for about 4 years.

Any suggestions?

If the upgrade is worth it, anyone know of a place to purchase one at the lowest price?
__________________

new.puree is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Erm, I doubt you'll notice a ground breaking difference. And the XP 3000+ isn't a very good processor. You should think about two things:

1. Get a XP 2500+ and overclock it to a 3200+

2. Buy the 3200+ because it runs with a 200Mhz FSB, where the 3000+ still runs on 166Mhz.

The former is obviously much cheaper, but you may need a better heatsink/fan, and overclocking of course.

Edit: come to think of it, if you can't run the game on high settings with a 6600GT and 1 gig of ram, then perhaps it is indeed your processor that's slowing you down. What kind of ram you got?
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 03:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

buy a new mobo with a new cpu

or just OC the one you have
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

what's your budget?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

ram is a old kingston stick 512 pc2300
and a newly added stick of corsair pc3200
budget is around 100-200 maybe? I was only hoping to buy a new cpu and not with a new mobo altogether because my gfx card is agp based.

* also I doubt that there is a socket a 3200+ so..
new.puree is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

I'm not sure what the problem is but.. I also purchased a vga cooler and whenever I play games for a period of about 2 hrs, I experience a major loss in frames to the point where I have to let my computer cool down. Could it be a bad cpu heatsink?
I have tried blowing a house fan into my case and it solves the problem.
new.puree is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i would say just save that money then buy a whole new computer
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

I'm getting a non gaming laptop in about a year so I need a decent machine to play with for a while... so that is out of the picture

Any more suggestions for my cpu problem?
new.puree is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

well you really cant do anythign more with your cpu

i highly doubt you will see a big difference between processors, i mean i can barely see a difference between 2.0Ghz and 2.2Ghz
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

the difference would be 1.67 to 2.0-2.2
__________________

new.puree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.