processor speed and ram???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2008, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default processor speed and ram????

i was at work the other day in the break room with a co-worker, we were looking at a best buy add. one of the laptops had 4 gb of ram and he said that good but it doesn't say the processor speed. so my question is, is there an equasion or rule on how fast your processor speed has to be compared to the ram? if the way i worded it confuses you what i mean is for example:

for every 2gb ram you need 1ghz processor speed
__________________

bigd22686 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 06:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: processor speed and ram????

no.....
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 06:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: processor speed and ram????

No, there's really no relation between the two numbers. A computer with a 2 GHz processor for example, could have 512mb ram, or 4 gb ram. There's no telling one by the other. However, did the ad say what type of processor? Is it AMD or Intel? Dual Core or Single Core? If it says specifically what kind, then you might be able to get a feel of the processor speed. If it tells you specifically what model processor it is (i.e. AMD 6000+), then simple research can tell you the speed.
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: processor speed and ram????

None whatsoever, you could still put a top of the line QX9770 with 128mb of RAM.

No correlation sir.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: processor speed and ram????

On a related idea, can a small processor bottle neck the system (compared to the RAM), or vice versa? If so, is there a good way to determine what will balance out the system? Sorry if I'm not clear with my question.
rkagin is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: processor speed and ram????

A slow processor will significantly bottleneck a system. That said all modern dual core processor are fast enough for general use. Low ram can also hurt performance but ram is allot easier and cheaper to upgrade than the processor.

For ram 2gb is plenty for a system running Vista and 1gb is enough for one running xp.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: processor speed and ram????

Ya if you want to crazy multitask you need to have both a good amount of RAM and a decent multi-cored CPU
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: processor speed and ram????

or be ready for the x64 future as a 32bit Os will only see a max of 3.5gb so if a laptop has 4gb it will have a x64 OS. Do you have a link or name for this laptop an do you have a general idea what you would use it for.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.