processor ruined - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default processor ruined

I was working on my old comp and had my processor on my floor next my tool box and just like that my dog jumped on my bed with my case on it and before I knew it, my case crashed strait on to my processor (what LUCK).So I would like to buy a new processor, Its a 478 socket 2.66ghz P4 on a stock dell mobo.
Was wonder if a regular 478 socket processor would work or does it have to be compatible with the motherboard, and also
do you just put it in or do you have to do all kinds of stuff please help me. Also I dont care about performance so I was going to
get a celeron d cuase their cheap or is their much diff for a low performacne computer.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

not sure aboutcompatability as i've never worked with intel systems but.. you'd have to get thermal grease (reccomend arctic silver) to go betweel the heatsink and the chip.
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

...kick the dog ^_^
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Unhappy

I would really like to fix it.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

what exactly did it do to it? have you tried putting it back in? did he crack the mobo?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

no the cpu was off the mobo and the cpu is missing pins.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

ooooo... thats not good.. theres nothing you can do about broken pins sadly enough to my knowledge.. time for a new one








and by that i mean new dog and cpu
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

LOL!! :laughing:

just buy a new s478 cpu :O

dude you got a dell
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Thats what I thought but didnt know if I would have to reprogram it but I guess its the same exact thing as my old one a 478socket.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 08:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Thats what I thought but didnt know if I would have to reprogram it but I guess its the same exact thing as my old one a 478socket.Ohh I didnt get a dell my dad did and he just wasted
2k on an xps which was alright but it was mostly exspensive becuase of the 24" digital widesrceen (bad eye site I guess)
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.