processor questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default processor questions

sorry for all the questions but i just dont want to make any mistakes........

what is L1 Cache on a processor?

what is L2 Cache on a processor?

is higher or lower better?

i would like processor seggestions for the price range of up to about 300 or so, dont care if its amd or intel

p.s. dont want to start an amd vs. intel fight just asking for sugesstoins

Thanks for reading(again),

Trevor
__________________

trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

L1 cache: fastest memory, used for temporary storage and access for the CPU.
L2 cache: slightly slower than L1, overflow from L1 cache, ususally much larger than L1 cache.
lots of cache =

For a processor, this is a VERY good processor.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
If you want dual core, the X2 3800 is the way to go, a bit over $300 though.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

L1 cache is the level 1 cache & is smaller, L2 cache is level 2 cache & is bigger, i dont know what they do but im sure someone does
If you are buying from newegg for 300 bux you cant go past the 3800+X2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 06:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

What's the L3 do then?

Anyway, for the CPU I'd reccomend any Opteron Dual-Core or Any Athlon 64 x2 (both socket 939).
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

L3? You're spinning me a new type of curveball. I was always under the impression that L3 would be the RAM... Although I'd never call it L3.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

L3 is faster than the RAM. Intel Xeons, Extreme editions, and Itaniums had them. Its just the 3rd layer after the 2nd.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I guess that shows how much I know about Intels.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

lol
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 12:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default

thanks
__________________

trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.