processor question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2014, 05:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default processor question

I have a dell gx620 foxconn I s-36 mobo 4gigs ram 3.40 ghz ht processor, amd hd 6750 graphics. corsair 600 watt power supply. I want to change my processor to
a dual core e2200. I don't know if its compatible or not. The board its in is a foxconn n15235. Would I be ok swapping processors. Or should I strip my dell parts and load them onto the n15235? Only problem is the 15235 has only 2 ram bays so id drop from 4 gigs ram to 2 gigs. Any help is much appreciated . Thank you.
__________________

Nestle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 11:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: processor question

According to this: best processor upgrade for Dell Optiplex GX620 - Desktop General Hardware Forum - Desktop - Dell Community

If you're on a Pentium 4 currently, you can't upgrade to a Core 2 Duo; the best you could get is a Pentium D 840 or Pentium 4 670 on the stock heatsink (non-copper). Would be wise to upgrade to the latest BIOS (at least A11) before swapping CPU's.

Other people in the thread say with at least BIOS version A11 you can do Pentium D 960 with the copper heatsink.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: processor question

The LS-36 takes DDR2 and only supports up to the Pentium D. The other Foxconn takes up to 4GB of DDR3 and will take up to a Core2 Quad.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 11:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: processor question

You won't be able to use Windows 8.1 with the Pent D 8x series chips, so getting the Pent 9x series chips would be better if you plan on using Windows 8.1
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default Re: processor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
You won't be able to use Windows 8.1 with the Pent D 8x series chips, so getting the Pent 9x series chips would be better if you plan on using Windows 8.1
I plan on keeping windows 7 , 64 bit. So would I be better off going over to the dual core and making that my computer of choice. Or are both these in the same ball park basically?
Nestle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 02:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: processor question

If you have DDR3 laying about then that would be the better option because you can upgrade to a better Core 2 Quad later on the better Foxconn board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default Re: processor question

I have 2 gigs of it. The l s36 board has 4 gigs and the Pentium 4 3.4 ht in it. Is it worth dropping 2 gigs ram for the dual core board for4 now?
Nestle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 03:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: processor question

Just remember that the L36 uses DDR2 and the other uses DDR3. Is it worth it? That's entirely up to you and what you do on the machine. It's much cheaper to buy another 2GB of DDR3 and the Core 2 Duo will be much faster than what you have now.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default Re: processor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Just remember that the L36 uses DDR2 and the other uses DDR3. Is it worth it? That's entirely up to you and what you do on the machine. It's much cheaper to buy another 2GB of DDR3 and the Core 2 Duo will be much faster than what you have now.
I appreciate your advice. Ram is a lot cheaper than buying a new computer. Ill just swap over then. Thank you again.
__________________

Nestle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help me, processor upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xeon Processor Vs i7 Processor mikemelo1369 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-09-2010 06:58 PM
changeing out AMD 350 processor with AMD 475 processor polywog73 System Upgrades 2 02-21-2008 02:22 PM
AMD Processor vs Intel Processor Snake-Eyes Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 945 04-22-2007 07:57 AM
Pentium D (3.0ghz) Dual Core Processor vs AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core Processor Furion New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-08-2006 11:52 AM
new processor/motherboard installed.... old processor shown, also crashes lokivn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 12-10-2004 05:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.