Processor question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2008, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Processor question

I have an AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000 3.0 GHz (2 MB L2 cache, I know it's low) and I want to run Crysis. According to Canyourunit.com, Crysis needs 4.4Ghz to run at recommended speed.

But my friend says that OC'ing your Processor makes all guarantee's null and void.


Knowing that OC'ing increases chance of overheating, the fact that guarantee's are going to be null and void, and the fact that the stock fan for this certain processor is supposedly "Cruddy", Should I OC my processor to around 4.5 Ghz?


I am going to get a Corsair 650W soon, So I might be able to buy SOME Fans ( I just don't want them to be too expensive, if anyone has any suggestions)
__________________

VistaGamer is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Processor question

.......... X2 6000+ couldn't reach 4.5ghz even in its dreams. I love AMD and they make decent products. But its only Intel that over clocks like crazy and maybe eventually Deneb. Also please for the love of God. Do me a favor and back hand slap your friend cause he deserves it.

Athlon X2 6000+ at stock speeds with a powerful GPU (8800 GS and above) should be able to handle Crysis.

Oh by the way, I know I shouldn't do this. But the X2 6000+ is TWO Cores that each run at 3.0ghz. So you are running 2 Cores at 3.0ghz. Which means even a lowly X2 4400+ should be able to handle Crysis.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 09:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Processor question

You're not going to be able to really OC to 4.5 GHz with an AMD processor. And you don't need a 4.4 GHz dual core CPU for Crysis. That might be the "overall speed", so you'd have 6 GHz on the demented Canyourunit speed scale. Your processor should be more than okay for Crysis, as Crysis is a graphics card heavy game. What graphics card do you have?
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Processor question

Your friend is right that OC'ing a CPU voids the warranty, unless you have a Black Edition CPU from AMD, or Extreme Edition from Intel. Nobody really cares about it though lol. If you need to warranty your chip, more than likely they won't check it and will give you a replacement, unless of course there are burnmarks on the chip .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: Processor question

i have a single palit radeon hd4850. I heard it can run crysis on high graphics.

but my friend had also told me that the GHz labeled on the box is the combined GHz of both cores (so my 3.0 GHz dual core is 1.5 GHz each core, he says).

Should I stop listening to him? Hehe, I always take my computer advice from him ( and from this forum, thanks again). So far it's been good.

Anyways, I want to be able to run Crysis on High Settings. Maybe not as high as a very expensive computer, but High Enough so the Pixels don't look like crap, and it just looks a tad worse then Very High
VistaGamer is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 11:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Processor question

Yes, stop taking advice from him. You do NOT add the core values (nor divide them, or multiply them, or any kind of arithmetic on them).

You should be able to play Crysis just fine. I ran it on all high settings on my 8800GTS 320mb, and can run it on my 8800GT even better.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 03:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Processor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by VistaGamer View Post
but my friend had also told me that the GHz labeled on the box is the combined GHz of both cores (so my 3.0 GHz dual core is 1.5 GHz each core, he says).

ur friend is ret@rded.. and yes u should stop listening to him, and yes ull be able to play the game fine on high settings.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 04:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Processor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by VistaGamer View Post
but my friend had also told me that the GHz labeled on the box is the combined GHz of both cores (so my 3.0 GHz dual core is 1.5 GHz each core, he says).

Should I stop listening to him? Hehe, I always take my computer advice from him ( and from this forum, thanks again). So far it's been good.
Quote:
Also please for the love of God. Do me a favor and back hand slap your friend cause he deserves it.
Make sure your friend never reproduces for all of our sakes.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 08:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Processor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Do me a favor and back hand slap your friend cause he deserves it.
Agreed, lol.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 09:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: Processor question

Hehe alright, I'll do that.

Carnage, what was your average FPS on Crysis? Everything was smooth on High right?

Also, What is the difference between "rated" and "Clocked"? Is Clocked what it is set to, and rated what it COULD be set to?

Because My processor is 3.0GHz rated at 9.0GHz, and I didn't really catch that
__________________

VistaGamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.