Processor Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2006, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Question Processor Question

Hey, I'm planning on building a computer this summer but I'm stuck between 2 processors. The first one is made by AMD and has both a higher bus and clock speed and is more expensive, but the other one is duel core and made by intel... I'm just woundering which one is better. I don't do much gaming but I do usually have a lot of programs open. (ie: firefox, outlook, AIM, photoshop etc.)Here are the links... Thank

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=1366613


http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=1424107
__________________

beginer005 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

none to be honest, they both are not very good ones, in a week or two the Conroes will be out, you would be able to get a decent dual core from either intel [the conroes..] or from AMD [the x2's which will drop prices]

For multitasking, dual cores only!!

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

well the amd ppl are gonna say amd and the intel ppl are gonna say intel, untill it comes to you saying you multi task alot cuz most ppl agree that intel has been the better of the 2 for multi tasking and having alot of apps open. so in a way you can look at it like, good gaming rig = amd, good program, apps rig = intel.

also amd doesnt have a "bus" really, there bus speeds are far lower then intels on systems that do have a bus but they have that hypertransport thing they got going which acts differently then a bus on an intel system. an amd bus speed is somewhere like 533 ish on most system where intel is on 1024 i believe, not exect numbers just off the top of my head, but then amds hypertransport is like 2000.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by King X13
well the amd ppl are gonna say amd and the intel ppl are gonna say intel, untill it comes to you saying you multi task alot cuz most ppl agree that intel has been the better of the 2 for multi tasking and having alot of apps open. so in a way you can look at it like, good gaming rig = amd, good program, apps rig = intel.

also amd doesnt have a "bus" really, there bus speeds are far lower then intels on systems that do have a bus but they have that hypertransport thing they got going which acts differently then a bus on an intel system. an amd bus speed is somewhere like 533 ish on most system where intel is on 1024 i believe, not exect numbers just off the top of my head, but then amds hypertransport is like 2000.
what are you on about dude?

AMD CPUs are both better for gaming and multitasking against the current Intel cpus... also this place is made mostly of Nvidia and AMD Fanboys that will say amd almost anytime

Thing is the NEW Intel CPUs that aren't widley released YET are much better than nowdays AMD CPUs in both gaming and multitasking.

what you wrote there was half nonsense and half mumble jumble [didnt make any sense to me anyway] =\ not to flame but if you dont have a clue then you dont HAVE to reply.
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Wait till July 24 when AMD has big price cuts on their Athlon64 X2 dual core processors.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 05:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

lol flaming about opinions is pretty funny. you gave me a chuckle yoad. so thats why i wont even reply lol.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

no pun intended but that just made no sense and half of it wasn't even true... :s

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Yoad i'm sure you have more important things to think about, like hizbollah rockets in your back yard.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 11:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

What happens on July 24??? o_O

EDIT: Ok, stupid question. Answer: "AMD has big price cuts on their Athlon64 X2 dual core processors."

The reply rather is "Why? How do you know?"
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 05:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

to reply yourquestion above, why? Becuase new chips are coming out hence the prices of the old chips drops.

how do I know? AMD Has released an official chart showing the cpus prices after the price cuts

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.