Processor and Motherboard not compatible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 11:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default Processor and Motherboard not compatible

I have a Shuttle AK38N motherboard with 512MB of DDR ram and a AMD Duron 1.0ghz processor. I tried my friends Athlon XP processor on my motherboard. The computer started for a brief second but then immediately shut off. When I put my durron back onto the motherboard, it started right up. then I put the athlon xp on the board and it did the same thing, shut down after a brief second.

On the Shuttle website it says its compatable with Athlon XP processors so I dont understand why it wont work. I was testing that processor out to see if I wanted to get it for my computer also. ( The website is http://eu.shuttle.com/archive/en/ak38n.htm )

any help/advice is appreciated
__________________

silentblackhat is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

i foundout that the processor is the AMD Athlon XP 2200
__________________

silentblackhat is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default

you can try updating the bios while you have the duron in, and then trying to stick in the Athlon. It could be that your current bios doesnt support the athlon architecture.
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default

also make sure EVERYTHING is compatible. ie socket number, FSB, etc etc
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I know that the memory works with the athlon that I have because to see how much memory i want, i took the memory out of his computer and used it in mine, and before he needed a stock of memory out of my comp to test out in his comp with this processor. I allready have the ltest bios version avalaboe for my motherbard.

The shuttle site says "Note: If an Athlon XP processor with 166/333MHz FSB is used, for KT333CF-chipset the DDR333-memory is essential, as only synchronous operation is possible on this setting." I am just not sure how to find what the FSB is on the processor

I am goin to get a computer speaker yto hook to the board tonight since i dont have one hooked to my motherboard so incase there is beeping i can see what it is
Here are some pictures of the chip to show what exact one I have.





The startup screen:
silentblackhat is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

The 2200+ has a 266MHz FSB.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

alright so when it says this(below) then i should be allright, spec-wise. i have a duron socket A so the socket is taken care of. theprocessor is a 266fsb. and im pretty sure oim good on the memory. i am goin to go out and buy a computer speaker for my comp to see if when it shuts off it makes a beeping sound


One thing i am confused about is where it says that it supports the 200/366/333 then it says supports the different models. is there a difference between a T-bred(model 8) or are they saying that the t-bred series is model 8? also i saw on the internet that there were 2200's and then 2200tbreds, is therea difference? thanks for the help so far


AMD Athlon XP and Duron processors for socket A with 200/266/333MHz FSB
supports Thunderbird, Palomino (model 6), T-Bred (model 8) and Barton up to 3000+
FSB infinitely adjustable: 100...166MHz (in 1 MHz-steps)
Note: If an Athlon XP processor with 166/333MHz FSB is used, for KT333CF-chipset the DDR333-memory is essential, as only synchronous operation is possible on this setting.
silentblackhat is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 05:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default speaker installed, found sound

I installed a speaker to the motherboard and right when the comp shuts off, it makes a sound. its a constant sound till you pull the power cord....its a high pitch then it switches to a lower pitch then it switches to the high pitch again. can anyone tell me what that means?

thanks
__________________

silentblackhat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.