Is this processor compatible with this motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2010, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Is this processor compatible with this motherboard?

I currently have This processor

and want to put it into This Motherboard

are they compatible?
I thought that a motherboard could always accept a lower front side bus, but I read somewhere that someone tried to install a Athlon X2 4200+ into the motherboard and it did not work
Does the motherboard only accept a processor with a 2600MHz FSB?
__________________

GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 08-05-2010, 01:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Is this processor compatible with this motherboard?

It will work.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 03:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Is this processor compatible with this motherboard?

Doesn't that motherboard use Hypertransport 3.0, isn't that incompatible with Hypertransport 2.0?
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Is this processor compatible with this motherboard?

There are many Athlon 64 x2, and Athlon x2 chips with HT 2.0 on that particular motherboard's CPU support list. What this means is that even the newer revisions of the older Athlon 64 and Athlon x2 chips will work.

Old chips are not what you should worry about, it's the brand new revisions such as Athlon II x2 240 that might be a problem.

The microcode for your processor (athlon 64 x2 4400+) is **** near identical to the microcode on the athlon 64 x2 5000+, and that chip is on the CPU support list. Technically the 4400 and 5000 are the same chip. The 4400 is just clocked lower. Due to a defect, or perhaps slightly odd behavior at higher speeds. This way AMD saves money because the chip works at lower frequencies, and the chip still works fine. This is also why sometimes low-end models will overclock like champs, and other low end models don't overclock at all.


The point is, your BIOS understands how to work with the CPU microcode in your processor. It WILL work. DDR2 is on that board, and you won't have any problems at all. Newer microcode might be a problem though.
RichM499 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New motherboard, ram, cpu and dvd drive. WILL IT READ FROM NEW SATA DVD DRIVE evan833 System Upgrades 11 01-14-2009 09:16 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
No Video At All! [ EVGA 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard. ] Oshikorosu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-31-2008 05:51 PM
After New motherboard, PC wont start up? amazonsamurai Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-11-2008 02:18 PM
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 08:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.