Processor Compatibility? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2007, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Processor Compatibility?

I have a spare ECS RS400-A Mobo, It's compatible with Pentium 4 LGA 775, FSB 800mhz. I've been advised to purchase a 64 bit processor, but i don't know wether it will support it. Im not too bothered, im just looking for a good Pentium 4 processor.
Can anyone find me a compatible processor and a price? I've had trouble with compatibility issues before.
It also claims to have both AGP and PCI-E slots, I currently have an AGP
gfx card in my current comp, does this mean that i can put my AGP into this board and upgrade it to PCI-E in the future?
I just need to make sure everything i buy will be compatible.

Here's some links to info about the board:

PC World Info
PC Stats Review
ECS Info
Digit Life Article
SysOpt Review
Hardware Zone Info


Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks
__________________

GrantM345 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I've read that PCI-e boards that have AGP as well, AGP is very crippled.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Alot of P4 processors are 64bit. What is your budget for the processor?
Here are some P4 processors to pick from:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=343
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

I am willing to spend about £60/£70, I'm looking for a Pentium 4 , about 3ghz. I have found out that the board can support 64 bit processors.
Thanks
GrantM345 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I don't know how much that is in US dollars, but this should do fine:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116231
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 07:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, I found a list of processors compatible with the Mobo,
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Sup...uID=69&LanID=8

How important is the L2 cache size?

thanks
__________________

GrantM345 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.