Which processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2007, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Which processor?

i am helping my brother build his computer and im stuck on which processor to chose for under 200 USD he will be using it for mild gamming and to store his music collection. i was decideing between the Intel core 2 duo E6300 which is what i used for my build and the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (65w) windsor. the amd is much cheaper and was better for itunes (acording to tomshardware) but the intel 1 step above the e6300 blew it away in most of the gamming benchmarks.

any help would be apreciated
thanks
__________________

__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Which processor?

will you be overclocking or leaving stock?
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: Which processor?

overclocking
__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Which processor?

e6300 is ur best bet if u wanna overclock.. that baby can hit 3.0 ghz, without lifting a finger, but i say for the same price the e6320 is better (same processor 4 mb cache instead of 2 MB)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
My C2D processor only showing one Core!! Please Help!! Nour Ershaid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 05-08-2007 01:11 PM
new processor help dafunkmon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-07-2007 07:33 PM
New Computer Processor Has The Potential Of Reaching Trillions Of Calculations Per Se b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 20 05-01-2007 08:20 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.