Which Proccesor to get and spec? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 06:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default Which Proccesor to get and spec?

Looking to buy a new desktop PC, using it for music, videos, college work and a game or two, the main game being World of Warcraft.

I heard people saying the AMD prices are going to drop soon, or something, is this true?

I have a budget of say 250 pounds about 500 dollars. Which is lame, but am strapped for cash after my holidays

I live in the UK, so need places that are able to ship to UK.

Thanks

Will
__________________

BlazerWill is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

try http://www.goldenelectronics.co.uk/ got some really cheap pcs plus there based in da uk . i got my pc from there.
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

well umm, 500 for a computer isnt much, you could just go buya prebuilt, or build one and save like 100
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Is it 250 for the CPU, or the whole PC? Try ebuyer.co.uk, scan.co.uk, or overclockers.co.uk. And there's komplett.co.uk as well. I prefer Scan and Overclockers. Hope it helps...
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Do you have anything right now that you can use for an older system? say... DVD drive, hard drive, OS disk, etc...

What do you have now, if I may ask? and I agree with above... 250 isn't a lot to work with. hence why I'm asking the above.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.