Problems with new Motherboard/Processor upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Problems with new Motherboard/Processor upgrade

I recently installed a new ASROCK 939NF4G-SATA2 motherboard with an AMD 64 3200+ processor. I did a fresh install of Windows XP and installed Service Pack 2. I also updated all of the mobo drivers (Audio, LAN, USB, AGP). When I am working in Windows it runs very good with no hicups or any issues. I also ran a burn test and then immediately checked the temperature (112 F). The problem is when I play my game of World of Warcraft. It will play fine and then suddenly my monitor (21" IBM CRT) goes black and then in a few seconds turns back on again. This will happen once or twice and then when it comes back it is locked up and I have CTRL ALT DEL to get back to the Windows screen. I have used a Pentium 1.8 with the same video card (ATI 9800) and it worked perfect with no problems. Any ideas?
__________________

Tbyte32 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Just curious, what's your power supply?
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

I have a 450 Watt Power Supply
Tbyte32 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

what KIND of psu.. not the wattage
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 01:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

I'm guessing it's your psu, but if not it could be your motherboard.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 02:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Do you have the latest graphics drivers? Could it be possible that you ahve a cheap PSU? And are you running the graphis too high or overclocking your gfx card too high causing it to overheat.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.