Problem w/ New Motherboard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2011, 09:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

what are the full specs of your rig now?

also try disconnecting the hdd and just running the cd drive. see if it works.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

Rosewill 500W PSU
AMD Phenon X2 555
M4A89GTD PRO Mobo
DDR3-1333 (2 sticks of 2 GB each)
Pioneer CD/DVD
WD 250GB Caviar Black
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

just as a random thing, check your jumpers on the drive/hdd. it would be the first time i've seen the issue, but it might be a jumper conflict.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

Hmm...what should they be?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

it should say on the drive what the settings for master/slave are. change it so the cd is master and hdd is slave. or just disconnect the hdd and see if it recognizes it. if it dosn't when it's the only drive connected then there's an issue elsewhere.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

When I disconnect the HD so only the CDROM is connected, I cant even get to the BIOS
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

ok, try 2/3 things for me. first off, try a different cd drive if you've got one, check the jumpers if you haven't done that already, and lastly update the bios if you're not on the latest version.

you should be able to check it by getting into it (whatever you need to do to get into it do it) and go on the asus site for the latest bios version.

and is the cd/dvd drive sata ?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

Ah. I thought you would ask that. I have a very old CD/DVD drive, it's IDE, not SATA, could that be the problem?

Also, I went into the BIOS and and set the CD to boot first and disabled everything else, but when I hit the "hotkey" (F8) during the BIOS loadup, it only gave me the option to boot from my HD.
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 10:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

check the jumper settings make sure the cd drive is master, and also make sure the drive is connected as drive 0 on the ide cable, not drive 1.

also back in the bios set the sata controller option to IDE and turn off AHCI, i believe those options are there.

Eventually SOMETHING I suggest should work.... >.<
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 10:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Problem w/ New Motherboard

Peter, I appreciate all your help, I'm tired, going to bed, going to work it tomorrow morning. Will post back.
__________________

leonardmp92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MotherBoard Or PSU Problem? Jrh2oo8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-02-2010 01:48 PM
New motherboard problem Zachj06 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-19-2007 02:18 AM
Battery problem or motherboard problem? stargre Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-31-2006 12:01 AM
Motherboard Problem JAYDALOSS Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 12-16-2005 11:09 AM
Motherboard/RAM problem Ronado Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-29-2005 03:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.