problem with ram in new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2008, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 25
Default problem with ram in new build

i put together a budget computer for my dad motherboard
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A78-EMH HDMI AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
cpu
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 LE-1640 Orleans 2.6GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 45W Single-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors
ram
Newegg.com - Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

if you guys need the rest of the build i will list it later. here is what i ran into, first i got a bad stick of ram and rma back to newegg. i just got the replacement and it will only boot with with 1gb installed this time both sticks are good after i removed one stick it boots to the system imformation screen and at the bottom it says

dqs training failed on previous boot, reverted to slower dram speed
do i need to change a setting in bios? possibly different memory voltage
__________________

stevei48 is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: problem with ram in new build

what memory slots are you putting them in like



!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!! slot with ram

############################# No ram

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!! slot with ram

############################# No ram

you should have the ram in slots 1 and 3 or 2 and 4 if you look closely on your board. usually its like the way i showed you but look on your board to see. i had an issue with this.

BTW dont mess with ram voltages unless OCing the ram which you shouldnt be doing.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 09:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 25
Default Re: problem with ram in new build

that was the problem there are 2 yellow slots marked a1 and b1 and 2 black slots marked a2 and b2 i put them in slot a1 and a2 and it reconised 2gb memory if i put it in like the manual says it don't work thanks alot dawnofdoom
stevei48 is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: problem with ram in new build

Your so very welcome my friend

its a pleasure to be of assistance on Tech Forums.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build SATA Drive Problem bendrichard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-11-2008 11:46 AM
weird problem with new build help redsox Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-29-2008 02:07 PM
I have a RAM problem MetalOwns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-23-2008 07:47 PM
Weird Problem - Maybe RAM freeze? pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 9 11-05-2007 08:19 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.