problem with perfomance while raiding - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2012, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default problem with perfomance while raiding

I have an emachine with a amd 2x2 1.8 gb processor 260. Today i upgraded to a 700 watt power supply and an nvidia gtx560ti superclocked video card. Before installing the video card and power supply, while raiding I was dropping to 2-5 fps during boss fights. the more graphic intense the fight the worst. So assuming it was my video card i bought these 2 things and went into a raid tonight and was still at 5-10 during the fights. And this is on good settings which is next to the lowest setting. With everything I read this video card should easily perform at 30+ fps during boss fights. Any help would greatly appreciated. Thanks in advanced.
__________________

maddrussian is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 79
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

im guessing your talking about wow and mmo's are heavy cpu users so im told so my guess would be that your cpu is bottlenecking you what was your fps before the card?
__________________

Ecthelion is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 07:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

My frame rates with my old card were, during fights 2-5 fps tops. When im just messing around in the cities and stuff not to graphic intense 20-30.

with the new card 5-10 fps during fights and 30-40 just messin around.

with my old card i ran on the lowest setting possible, and with this new card im running at next to last lowest settings. The gtx560ti superclocked should easily from what i have read be able to handle highest settings, and put out good fps while doing it.

I also forgot to put i have stock 4 gigs ddr 3 memory, this computer is from walmart, an emachine. I just added the video card and power supply.

thanks again for u help.
maddrussian is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 07:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

does it have the latest drivers for the video card? what is the model number of the computer? when did you buy it? what cpu is in it?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 08:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Your CPU is definitely bottlenecking, mmos are heavily reliant on CPU power, and its emphasized the most in raids.
Shaynk is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

I have had it less than 1 yr the model number is:

emachine
ET1352g
its an
AMD ATHLON (tm) 2 x2 260u processor 1.8ghz
4 gb ram
64 bit operating system
windows 7
atx 700 watt power supply
nvidia gtx560 ti superclocked

I dont know alot about computers, trying to post everything needed. If there is anything else please let me know. I really appreciate all the help.

If its my computer bottlenecking what does that really mean, And can i fix it by changing my processor or am i going to have to get a new motherboard processor? Thanks Everyone very much...
maddrussian is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

Also If possible can I get some help picking a motherboard/processor combo that would do good with what i got. around 200$ thanks again
maddrussian is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 79
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

i cant seem to find what motherboard is in the ET1352g so i cant say if you can upgrade your cpu but i can tell you if you change your motherboard you'll lose your OS (windows) and have to buy a new install disc
Ecthelion is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

If possible I would like to change just the processor to a better one, but new to this so dont know if its possible.
maddrussian is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 01:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: problem with perfomance while raiding

k i figured out my motherbord has am am2 chip, does that mean i can find a bigger processor in that chip and put it in or is it more complicated than that? thx
__________________

maddrussian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD / HDD & raiding...help please! Jack_who689 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 07-31-2011 09:26 AM
FreeNAS RAIDing MindoverMaster Linux and Open Source 4 03-17-2011 10:22 AM
RAIDing for dummies pro2a Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-02-2011 03:16 PM
RAIDing HDs infiltrator7 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-23-2006 09:59 AM
Tomb Raiding? LoTeX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 03-07-2005 12:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.