Is this pre-built computer a good buy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Is this pre-built computer a good buy?

I have recently decided to purchase a new computer, and I was recommended to buy a custom system. Since I don't know much about computers, I decided to choose a pre-built one instead. For $790 CAD ($713 USD), I thought this seemed like a decent system:

Hewlett-Packard dc7100 CMT Pentium4 3.2GHz 1024MB 80GB DVD+/-RW Intel E2 Graphics 10/100/1000bTX LAN Win XP Home (No Monitor) (EOL / No Returns)

My main concern is whether or not it'll be able to run the game WoW adequately. This means minimal lag and comfortable graphics (doesn't need to be breathtaking, but sufficient clarity). Also, is the price I'm getting the system for a good deal?

Thanks for your expertise in advance.

P.S.- This is the site I'm getting it from:
http://atic.ca/index.php?page=Products&cat=84
If you see another pre-built that is a better deal and suits my needs, please tell me.
__________________

Acoustic is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

That pc is ok, but it doesn't even have a decent videocard. The onboard videocard is really bad. Also $700 for that is a little pricy. I reccomend just building and going with AMD.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

BTW that website is really expensive. I think monarchpc.com accepts canadian money. try going to www.monarchpc.com. They have good deals and true gaming computers.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Okay, thanks BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL for your input.

The reason I'm getting it from that place is because I can conveniently pick it up on my own. I wish I can build my own computer like you advised for me to do, but unfortunately, even if someone picked out all the parts for me, I wouldn't know how to put two pieces together. If the video card is the problem though, I can probably install another one myself or ask them to replace it for a small fee. I was looking at the GeForce and Radeon from the $40s - $80s range:

http://atic.ca/index.php?page=Products&cat=9
Acoustic is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 02:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

It's not that hard. Really. I've had more trouble screwing in lightbulbs (no joke).

Also, I severly doubt any cards in that range will be able to play WoW on anything but low. Sorry.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default

You need to fork out more money for a better graphics card. And if you're thinking of upgrading the graphics card on that prebuilt machine, you're out of luck. It probabaly doesn't have a pci-e slot, which is what you're looking for, and buying a motherboard with an AGP slot nowadays is a complete waste.

But yeah, you definitely need a better video card to enjoy wow.
melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

dude build ur own, im canadian and i feel ur pain about prices. here is what you would need to run it fine

AMD 3200+
a regular mobo, nothing special, it should cost about $70
Geforce 7600GT or 6600GT
a regular case
200 GB Hard drive
2x1gb dual channel VALUE ram, preferablly from OCZ, Corsair, Crucial.
NEC 3550A optical drive.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Alright, thanks everyone. I did end up customizing my own with some help from a friend, and I'm paying the place $25 to put it together for me. This was the end result:

1x AMD Athlong 64 3200+ 2.0GHz.
2x Kingston 512MB DDR400
1x Asus A8N-E
1x Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II
1x Alps FD 1.44 Black
1x eVGA 6600GT 128M SLi PCI-Ex
1x In-Win C589T ATX 350W BK
1x Pioneer DVR-111D DVD-/+RW 16x BK

It added all up to $736.
How does this sound?
Acoustic is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

it sounds good, but add an extra 512mb of ram and a good PSU and you've got urself a good computer.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 03:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I already have 2x 512MB of RAM, I should have one more?
And the In-Win C589T's power supply reads:
350W ATX Powerman ATX12V 2.01 20+4pin
That's reliable, right?

Thanks again.
__________________

Acoustic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.