Is this pre-applied thermal paste? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2007, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Is this pre-applied thermal paste?

The first time I've bought a boxed cpu...usually buy OEM...but the heatsink that came with my boxed cpu has what looks like thermal paste...its gray and in three different strips...is it thermal paste or something else?
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is this pre-applied thermal paste?

Yup...just mount the heatsink on and use the pre-applied paste.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Is this pre-applied thermal paste?

Thats thermal compound, the HSF is ready to mount.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: Is this pre-applied thermal paste?

Yeah I had to figure it out the hard way. I touched the thermal paste to get a little part of my finger sticky. That isn't bad right?
undefined is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Is this pre-applied thermal paste?

No, it's alright. Eventually you can actually buy some after market thermal paste and just wipe the stock one of the cpu and heatsink. It depends if you really need it though, or if you're overclocking. For now, that stock one will do you fine, and putting your finger on it won't have any effect on it.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
i didnt apply thermal paste levon11 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-14-2007 10:44 AM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM
cpu thermal paste... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 06-29-2007 11:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.