PowerColor ATI Radeon 9550 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default PowerColor ATI Radeon 9550

http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...33&cid=999.821

Is that a good video card? I only have about 50-60 dollars and I'm hoping to get a good card that can handle WoW on medium-high settings.

Help is appreciated.
__________________

xMC91x is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

That card will play most games at pretty good settings as long as its in a decent machine. My secondary PC has the Made by ATI version and it is a 2.6p4 ht 800fsb 2x512 in dual channel and it will play cs:s, Mohaa, BF2, DOD, CoD uo, with pretty good settings no problem at all. Just over a year ago that card was $200.00
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Alright thanks for the quick reply. It's for my brother and he has this:

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...0073854&catid=

That can handle it right?
xMC91x is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Yeah that would work perfect as long as its an 8xagp slot which it should be (I will check it out and let you know if it's not) Even if its a 4x slot it will still work.

Edit - I checked it is 8xagp

http://global.acer.com/products/desktop/ast135.htm
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Okay, Thank you. You've been very helpful.
xMC91x is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

No problem

I just cant believe nobody tryed to talk you into getting an Nvidia card instead,,Yet, lol Give them a little while. the 6600 would be a little better If you could find it and might be around the same price.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.