Power switch button - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2009, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Power switch button

Can anyone tell me which pins for my front panel power switch button, power led and HDD led connects to? I have the M7VIG 400 Rev: 7.3 motherboard.
__________________

rjmac is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Power switch button

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmac View Post
Can anyone tell me which pins for my front panel power switch button, power led and HDD led connects to? I have the M7VIG 400 Rev: 7.3 motherboard.
wrong thread but okay
taken from: Biostar USA


__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Power switch button

I got this from the PDF of the manual, page 8.
ftp://ftp.biostar-usa.com/manuals/M7...G400manual.pdf
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pins.jpg (20.1 KB, 1475 views)
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Power switch button

Thank you, Fat.Clown. Which of the color wires are the positive and negitives? I have the Blk/W, Grn/W and Red/W.
rjmac is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Power switch button



The flat side with the writing should face outwards... down on the bottom row, up on the top row.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Power switch button

with this specific mother board , what does it mean when i hit the power button and the fans only seem to power up by making one rotation, and thats it , nothing else happens... would it mean something is fried, thanks in advanced
firewise32 is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Power switch button

Is there a light on the motherboard?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 03:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Power switch button

No, none that i can see.
firewise32 is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 03:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Power switch button

Is the PSU plugged into the wall, set at the correct voltage (red switch on the back if you have one) and switched on at the back (and the wall of course).
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 05:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default

yeah its set at 115

its not a new mother board , it was my little bros, but he said something was wrong, and that usually means he was trying to tinker with and messed it up ,but im not sure what he did...Im just wondering if the board was fried , would those fans even move like they do when i hit the power button...before i just hooked up the power source , and when i would flip the switch the fans would do the same thing, then when i hooked up the front panel to the mother board , now it does the same thing but only when i hit the power button on the panel... i hope that could shed some more light on the subject
__________________

firewise32 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Computer Not Responding When Power Button is Pushed. DStr001 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 05-05-2009 12:51 AM
Power Supply Guide Ste Overclocking and Modding 0 02-18-2008 03:18 PM
Connecting the power button cristo33 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-29-2007 06:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.