Power Suppy Wattage + Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2006, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default Power Suppy Wattage + Graphics Card

Hi Guys.

This is my first post so please be gentle. I am building a new pc, (the third I have built) and I have a question about the wattage of the power supply unit and the needs of my graphics card.

I want to use a Geforce 7800GTX graphics card, and the Case I want to buy (Thermaltake Tsunami Silver) has a 430w power supply in it.

Will this be sufficient to power my video card with no problems? Sorry if this is a stupid question.

Thanks in advance.
Cub
("")("")
__________________

__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 06:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

welcome to the forums.

no i don't think that powersupply is sufficient.

just a question.. are you buying the 7800gtx or already have it? if you're buying it i recommend you get the 7900gt, better or similar performance, and a lot cheaper.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 06:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 125
Default

You need a 450W... I'd go 500W to be on the safe side.
OneArmedScissor is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Nice choice of case i have it and its very good. I bought this psu for it:

http://www.hipergroup.com/English/pr...hpu-4b580.html
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Its not enouph power. Get an Antec truepower 2 500w to 550w.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default

I think my friend is running the same graphics card on 450, buuuuuut 500 would probly be a good idea.
Propheticjester is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default

One more thing, I love how we're all so quick to say "no that won't work, but this more expensive thing." Everything I do, I do on a budget ;b Not an accusation or anything, just thought it was funny.
Propheticjester is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

Thanks for the replies.

I have not bought the gfx card yet. So the GTX is not that much better than the GT? The Tsunami Silver case comes with a 430w power supply so looks like I will have to buy a new PSU for it. Actually if it comes to that, I might buy the Thermaltake XaserV Gaming Tower instead and buy a PSU for that.

BTW, If the voltage is insufficient what happens?

That's an awesome PSU btw, I have to say I looked at all the cables off the back and though what the **** are they all for?

Cheers
Cub
("")("")
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 10:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

All the voltages are the same - maybe slightly off. Ampage is what really matters.

The one you have has 18 Amps on the 12v and a PSU like the thermaltake TR2 500w PSU has 29 Amps.

The antec truepower 550w has 38 Amps.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

no you misunderstood me.

you said you were gonna buy the 7800gtx. i recommended the 7900gt. different line of cards. the 7900gt is better and cheaper than the 7800gtx.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.