power supply vs geforce8800 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2007, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default power supply vs geforce8800

hi guys

i'm probably the least hardware savvy person on the planet, so i could do with some help!

i'm on the verge of upgrading my now depressingly old 7800 to a shiny new 8800, but from the few sites i've checked, they all recommend a 500w psu for the 8800

i'm currently running on a 480w psu, and frankly don't want to have to spend an extra £60 on something i might already have - so what's the real deal? can i get by? will i likely suffer any problems at all?

thank you all for any help you can offer

below is a list of stuff in my computer, if needed to better answer my question

nforce motherboard
amd 4200+ dual core cpu
1gb ram (soon to be 2)
geforce 7800 (soon to be 8800)
wifi network card
audigy 4
generic usb keyboard
razer copperhead mouse
1x hard drive
1x big fan on the cpu
1x small outlet fan at the rear

Anti-Social_FatMan is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
gurusan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: power supply vs geforce8800

What model number:? How many amps on the 12v rail?

You most likely WILL need one...skimping on the power supply is a no no.

|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: power supply vs geforce8800

depends on the quality of that power supply.
If it's a good brand, I'd say it will be fine with a GTS. GTX might be pushing it though.

I use a 580W PSU (Hiper Type-R) with my GTS 320MB card though.
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 10:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 01:28 AM
power AC adapter with PC power supply? samuraiwarrior Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 11:54 AM
Test to see if new power supply bad? darsunt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 04-06-2007 10:57 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 10:47 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.