power supply upgrad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2007, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default power supply upgrad

I have a Dell Dimension E510 duo core. I just bought a 8800 GTX Geforce.

It requires two pci e power cords. I just purchased the OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply from Dell. I'm hopeing this will even fit in the machine when I go to replace it.

Does anybody know that it will?

Thank you,
__________________

Dwight is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: power supply upgrad

Doubt it.

Dell love to use proprietary Power supples. (Odd Shapes)
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: power supply upgrad

I'll keep my fingers crossed.
Dwight is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: power supply upgrad

I HIGHLY doubt that it will...if it doesn't just buy another case I guess.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: power supply upgrad

Someone in these forums recomended my PSU - 620 WATT Corsair. I am running
a 8800 GTX. So far I LOVE this PSU! It's great!!!!
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: power supply upgrad

For those of you not in the know. The above mentioned power supply fit just fine. Holes matched up too.
__________________

Dwight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
power supply eiocan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-05-2007 03:36 PM
Test to see if new power supply bad? darsunt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 04-06-2007 11:57 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM
weird power trouble when putting in 2nd hard drive idrisguitar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 11:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.