Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2014, 01:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: england
Posts: 15
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

I don't know them.. but if you go to this page

AMD FX - Step 1 of 6.


On the first section, my case is the Black ATX Tower Case.

Then scroll down to Power Supply. Mine is the 700 W.

If you click the i, it gives more information.

Does this help?
__________________

Thopal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 02:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

That picture was all I needed LOL. Yea, toss that trash. SHould all work fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 02:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: england
Posts: 15
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

Thanks for that, I just have one small request, you know the power supply you recommended, could you recommend one with Amazon Prime on it? As the one you linked, its shipped from Germany and all the wires are with European power leads. And I like the refund/return procedures of the Amazon Prime much better. Thanks

I will definitely order the Graphics card and the new processor.
Thopal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 02:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

I don't see any prime except this one which is not modular.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Seasonic-S12...s=seasonic+620

Actually this Corsair is better and Prime.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-Prof...=corsair+hx650
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 02:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: england
Posts: 15
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

Thanks buddy, I've placed the order on Amazon, the components will arrive on Monday.

Hopefully I'll take it to the PC shop on Monday and then it will be done by some time later on in week.
Thopal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 02:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

Well at least you're set GPU and PSU wise. That Corsair will power anything for years. Next thing I would do is get yourself a better case.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 02:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: england
Posts: 15
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

Haha yeah, next on my list is new case, SSD, new motherboard and in time an i7.
Thopal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 03:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

You don't need an i7 for a gaming box.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 08:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: US
Posts: 15
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thopal View Post
ATX Midi Tower
You will probably want to upgrade your tower before anything else.

Mid Sized towers are usually geared towards mild to moderate gaming.
It is common for the mid sized towers to only have 1 exhaust fan.

Full sized towers on the other are geared towards heavy gaming(high end graphics/cpus that need much airflow/water cooling).
My tower has 7 fans, 3 intake, 4 exhaust.

If you elect to keep your mid sized tower, you should ensure that it will have room for whatever graphics card you choose to upgrade to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thopal View Post
Haha yeah, next on my list is new case, SSD, new motherboard and in time an i7.
Cross your fingers and pray that your new gpu doesn't overheat.
The link to your case, says it has only 1 fan.
That is not good.
7Priest7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 08:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Power Supply and Graphics Card Upgrade

His case can take 3 fans, but as long as he leaves the side panel open and his ambient isn't too hot he should be fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card and Power Supply ratzlaff System Upgrades 6 04-29-2008 12:55 PM
Graphics Card And Power Supply ? KABOURIS System Upgrades 10 04-08-2008 06:31 AM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Trying to provide additional power for graphics card with additional power supply stainer711 System Upgrades 6 12-27-2005 09:42 AM
Question about graphics card and power supply stevedub Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 05-10-2005 07:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.