Power Supply fail. New attempt. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2012, 08:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Test 8 on the CPU test? Then there is your problem. Your processor is getting too hot or is unstable (probably both if stock) and that is shutting you down.

The reason I doubted the PSU being bad is because I recommend the Corsair TX/HX/AX units because they have a very solid and reputable OEM that make some of the best PSUs money can buy. I figured if I made you run a plethora of tests then we will find the real culprit so you don't wind up wasting money.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Argilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to Argilus
Exclamation Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

So I dug out my processor, cleaned it of all cracked and crumbled Thermalpaste, applied a new layer, attached the Cpu fan, turned everything back on. Moments later, same thing, Computer shuts off while 5 mins in being in windows.

I'm not sure what the problems is, but I've been even trying to turn the fan up at a higher speed.

Maybe my motherboard is having issues>? I can't be sure.

Any other idea's?
__________________

Argilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Go download Memtest86+ and have it check for errors in your ram.
brinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Argilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to Argilus
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinks View Post
Go download Memtest86+ and have it check for errors in your ram.
iso, stuff eh? Let's see if I can even get my computer to burn an image.


So far, it's shut down twice.
Argilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Check the temps in the bios. By layer, I hope you don't mean literally. The amount of thermal paste you need to apply is that of the size of a grain of rice.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Argilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to Argilus
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Check the temps in the bios. By layer, I hope you don't mean literally. The amount of thermal paste you need to apply is that of the size of a grain of rice.

Yea, I only meant it was applied. I guess back to bios, which I'm s bit rusty on, so it'll be a refresher course.

Real quick, how do I prompt bios during startup again? Safe mode?
Argilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:29 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

You get into the bios during post, before Windows loads. Every motherboard is different. The key will be F2, F10, delete, or something like that. It should say it during post.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Argilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to Argilus
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Alright, I'll give it a try tomorrow. I got work starting at 5am, so I should retire even though this will bug me until I get home. I.need resolve.
Night guys
Argilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 05:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Argilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to Argilus
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Running memtest86 now, and what am I looking for while its running? 6 mind into it and no errors yet.
Argilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 05:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Power Supply fail. New attempt.

Intelburntest also stresses the RAM.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
desktop won't power up - blinking bule light - power supply? djreef Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-23-2009 12:33 PM
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 09:27 AM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Effects of too low of a power supply with power whoring graphics? stainer711 System Upgrades 2 12-27-2005 12:47 AM
Will the Thermaltake TD-420W power supply power a 6800GT AGP?? diabloII Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 06-24-2005 09:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.