Is the power supply enough for this comp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2006, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default Is the power supply enough for this comp?

- AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 2.2Ghz, 512KB Cache, 2000Mhz FSB, Socket 939

- Asus A8N-E, Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Chipset (ATX) PCI-E - onboard Audio, SATA RAID, Gigbit Lan, Firewire

- 1GB DDR 400Mhz PC3200 OEM - (2 512 mb sticks)

- 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE - SATA, 7200RPM, 8.9ms, 8MB cache

- 3 1/2" Sony 1.44MB Floppy Drive - internal, Black or Beige

- BFG 7800GT OC - GeForce 7800GT GPU, 256Mb DDR, PCI-Express 16X

- LG 16x DVDRW (4165B) - 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW

The power supply comes with the case. The case is....

- Aopen H600B Mid Tower Case - 400W ATX 12V v2.0 Power Suppy, Side Duct, Black, 9 Bays, 1 fan, 2 front USB


Will this PSU be enough?
__________________

crisis54 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

no i don't think so... I beleieve the 7*** series needs at leasts a 450 watt.... Sorry.

But you could get an Antec TruePower II 550 Watt... or anything Antec. They're a good brand
__________________

__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to McHopsky
Default

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

I put your specs in there and got 380W, but thats cutting it pretty close. When you upgrade your computer next you're gonna go over that. For now it will be fine, but your best bet it upgrade to a 500W sometime soon.
__________________
McHopsky
McHopsky is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea you'd be pushing it with that PSU. I'd stick with 500W and above to be sure.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

just got a 7800 gt and it didnt run on my 420w case power supply, if it has the 6 pin cable for the vid card it might work but you are better off just upgrading now, i suggest the fortron on newegg just got it and it has nice 12v rails (x2) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
its definately a nice ps and it will work great wit your set up
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.