Power Supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2009, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Default Power Supply

I need to upgrade my power supply because I am upgrading my cpu, video and sound cards. I am stepping up from this setup: AMD Phenomtm X4 9150e 64-bit Quad-Core Processor (1.80GHz, 2MB L2 Cache) with AMD64 Technology8
4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Systemboard with AMD 780G Chipset
Radeon X1650 Series

I am keeping the same Mobo, but adding a Phenom II x4 940 processor, NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB, Auzentech-X-Plosion Cinema 7.1-Channel PCI Sound Card.

What kind of power supply should I get?
__________________

obxdude018 is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Power Supply

Here ya go

Newegg.com - BFG Tech EX-1200 BFGR1200WEXPSU 1200W Continuous Rated at 40°C ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 12:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Power Supply

Uh....right....

I'm no power supply expert, at least compared to some of the folks on here, but you should at least get a real answer..

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS-500-PCAR-A3 500W ATX12V V2.3 Power Supply - Power Supplies
I've used this one a couple of times previously and had good experiences.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 12:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Power Supply

Whats wrong with that one? Seems like he has some very nice hardware, etc so why not get a nice power supply?

Now if I would have said a 500 watt ps, someone would have said thats to low.

I'm assuming he is a power user, possibly a gamer?

It's like buying a corvette with a 4 banger in it, just doesnt belong.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by obxdude018 View Post
I am keeping the same Mobo, but adding a Phenom II x4 940 processor, NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB, Auzentech-X-Plosion Cinema 7.1-Channel PCI Sound Card.
You don't need 1200 watts and 4 rails to run that...
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Power Supply

Well probably not but he could, what about future builds? This card requires at least a 350-400 watt PS, so maybe 500 watts in the minimum for this system?

I was just tossing that out there, didnt expect him to buy it.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 03:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Power Supply

A 9500GT barely uses any power whatsoever, and if you are buying a 9500GT for a gaming setup then prepare to be severely disappointed. The card is absolute trash for games. In fact yuor X1650 may even be better lol
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 06:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Power Supply

Your current PSU will probably work. Unless you have a 300w Dell PSU.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 08:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Power Supply

Go here and fill in the blanks

Newegg - Power Supply Calculator
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.