power supply - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 09:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

All I can say is then... go... gather thy money, and buy!
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Default

one other thing.. how do i find a PSU that will fit my machine?
and to those who said they arent sure if it is the power supply.. what else could it be?
__________________

Dymond is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 03:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i'm not sure what this "power save mode" thing is...

1) does your computer turn on? do all the fans go on? does hte fan on the video card go on? do you hear the beep(s)?

2) are you sure the power save mode doesn't have something to do with your monitor? try re-plugging it in. do you have integrated video? try plugging your monitor into the integrated video, go into bios, and disable it.. then replug it back into the 6600gt.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Computer turns on and starts running... screen just stays black. No beeps. I dont think the power save mode is to do with the monitor as when i put my fx5200 in it works perfectly. Not actually sure if i have integrated video.
Dymond is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 07:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Default

bump
Dymond is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 08:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Don't know what to tell you other than open up the case and look at the PSU... if it says microATX power supply then you have to find one that size as well... if it say ATX then just about anyone would do... PROVIDING you find one with at least 15-20A on the +12 volt rail. you will see that when you look at the side of the PSU (look for +12 and it'll tell you what that is rated to) PM if you need some help.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.