power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
Default power supply

im getting the following pc

amd athlon 64 3800 sckt 939
1024mb RAM
nvidia 7600GT PCI-E
Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF-9 NF4, S939, PCI-E (x16)
120gb seagate barracuda 7200
samsung dvd +/- rw
17" crt monitor

how much wattage will i need from a psu?

i was thinking of getting aspire x qpack with a 420W PSU, will this cover it?

i cant seemt to find out as all wattage calculators i go on are old and dont have the sckt 939's and 7600gt's

and help/advice welcome
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please refer to the sig rules before adding another one.
Pwnz0r is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

You need probably a 450 Watt minimum, but only a high quality brand PSU. Something along the lines of Antec or OCZ.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
Default

okie doke, should i get that venice 3800+ or a san diego 3700+?
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please refer to the sig rules before adding another one.
Pwnz0r is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

If you're overclocking, the Venice can do better overclocks from what I've seen.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
Default

okay, will this case/psu do it? or is the psu gonna be crap, bear in mind i wont be overclocking.

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...7&GroupID=1397
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please refer to the sig rules before adding another one.
Pwnz0r is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
Default

either that or get this and a £15 case

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=154679
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please refer to the sig rules before adding another one.
Pwnz0r is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pwnz0r
okay, will this case/psu do it? or is the psu gonna be crap, bear in mind i wont be overclocking.

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...7&GroupID=1397
That, my friend, is crap, whether you're going to be overclocking or not

Go for it if you want to. But keep in mind. That PSU will not be running at 520 Watts EVER. If you're lucky, you'll get 350 out of it. Not to mention the parts that PSU is made out of could give out any minute, hour, or day.

I did a little looking around on that site... Why don't you buy a seperate case without a PSU, and go with this:
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/product...roductID=11443
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
Default

okay nice, gives me a few bob to find a nice looking case, thank you =)
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please refer to the sig rules before adding another one.
Pwnz0r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.