Power Supplies - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2007, 06:11 PM   #21 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

alrite, alrite, i get it lol, Imma try to get one with he most rails on the 12v then right? I just read your watts dont mean jack thing
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 07:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You mean Most "amps" On the 12 V rail?

Amps aren't everything. There also quality of components that determines alot also.

In general if you stick to these brands your in the clear
PC Power and Cooling
Mushkin
Corsair
Etasis
Zippy
Enermax
Silverstone
Hiper
Seasonic
Tagan
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 02:40 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to zahir
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Is this power supply pretty good for the price? I don't really know much about rails and volts and psu specs, but is this one pretty good for a sub $30 PSU? I mean its 580watts lol.

Yeah that much pretty but i recommend http://www.arbico.co.uk/Component-Sp...p-1-c-356.html they has absolutely great prices on their valuable products .......

regards
zahir is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 07:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Thumbs up Re: Power Supplies

wow this has changed my mind about throwing away my water cooling

i took it out after my cathodes blew up, they smoked up the whole case after i attempted to add a friends hdd to test if it still spun,
i just took this as my psu not having enough volts, which took me a while to swallow cause its a huge psu

i have a hiper which i am about to RMA because of a minor led problem which hiper says might be a bigger issue

sorry to hijack this thread but i would love some encouragement to reuse my water setup

i have four 120mm fans(two thermaltake high powered, two crappy nzxt brand)
1 80mm
1 92mm on the cpu hsf
the two fans in the psu, 80, 120
only one 7200 rpm harddrive
one stick of ram
a measly single core athlon
7900gt with no voltmods
and one wierd 4 pin molex that is required on the a8n32 sli(fried mine up because that was the 4 pin i took out to plug in a second hdd)
no more cathodes or anything else

its just wierd because the hipe only gives you about 3 different 4 pins off the psu itself and one is used for the mobo directly, one directly to the hdd, so i run SO much off of the single one left, where would i put the water pump in this situation?

should i be ok?

should of made a thread sorry guys
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 02:47 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: U.K.
Posts: 6
Default Re: Power Supplies

Thanks,TriEclipse.Usefull and timely for me too.
dandy man is offline  
Old 05-09-2007, 11:42 AM   #26 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Power Supplies

i brought a brand new 600w PSU for my athlon 64 system for 22 from a shop called Novatech. Its quiet and very reliable
Nick is offline  
Old 05-09-2007, 01:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Power Supplies

Very Interesting
Boat_d is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 03:18 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Power Supplies

Quote:
Remember that people aren't about to pay $150/month in electric bills for their computers anytime in the next decade. The goal of hardware builders isn't just to make faster products and to not care about how much power they consume - Hardware companies also try to minimize the amount of power that they consume.
a 650w psu will not increase the price of electric bills.

for example: a system only uses 350w to operate and you put in a 650W psu. you will only be using 350w of the 650w. so... if you go out and buy a 350w psu and a 650w psu, power consumption will still be 350w no matter how high of a wattage psu you get.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:52 AM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default Re: Power Supplies

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazieaznboi View Post
a 650w psu will not increase the price of electric bills.

for example: a system only uses 350w to operate and you put in a 650W psu. you will only be using 350w of the 650w. so... if you go out and buy a 350w psu and a 650w psu, power consumption will still be 350w no matter how high of a wattage psu you get.
I know. Did you think that I could write that whole thing and think that?

My point was that power consumption of systems isn't going to increase to levels where they will be consuming $150 worth of power every month. That just isn't going to happen, and if someone put out a product like that, the people would never buy it. I'm just staying that levels of power consumption are probably going to stay like they are today, or close to now.

EDIT: ROFL, the post bumped the thread?!
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.