power supplies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default power supplies

ok i just bought a graphics card for my computer that i want to upgrade. after i ordered it i saw that it needs 450 watt powersupply and i have 430. how much of a problem will that be?
__________________

wrangyj90 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Thats a very big problem. if you don't have enough power and cooling, your system will blow up! Im serious.

Well, atleast you can watch some fireworks.
__________________

joey871 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

it depends on what brand of psu you have, dont run out and buy a new one if you an antec truepower 430 because it will run it just fine.
__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 06:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

ok so i was thinking about getting a 500 watt system so i have a little extra juice and its not being overloaded is that a good idea? im not computer swavy thats why im here and thanks for the help.
this is what i got for my computer
connect3D 3058 Radeon X1900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 Video. now im planning on ordering the memory and if i have to a new power supply wensday or thursday(depending on when i get my paycheck lol) so please give me some tips. if you can recomend a good power supply brand thats easy on the wallet
wrangyj90 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

antec has very good power supplys, I myself would not buy any other brand, truePower is the best as I see it, here are links to 3 very good antec power supplies. Having the extra juice is a very good thing even if your not going to be using it, the more power the better.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103928
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103929
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

my personal favorite is the 550, its only $84 which is $14 more than the 430. That would be my choice.
__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Having 430w when it needs 450 is not a big problem, amps will be though.

Antec are boring, reccomended too much when there are other PSU's of same if not better quality. For example Seasonic, Tagan, Enermax, Hiper and OCZ. Around the 500w mark is good so you can continue using it for your next PC and maybe one after that. Think of it as an investment spending $100 or even $200 on a PSU.

Edit: Pornography: http://www.frozencpu.com/psu-164.html?id=w9TiAXQB
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

ok but do i need to order something that will spec to my computer? its a custom built computer( i dont want no Dell or HP) now if i do need a specail spec can i find it on the old power supply. im not even sure if it is a 430 they guy who built it for me could have put a better one in. hopefully it says on the side.
wrangyj90 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

as long as you have somethig in the line of 18 plus Amps you should be good.. everybody recommends 25-35 Amps, but depending on your GPU, it's up to that... If you buy a PSU with dual +12v rails of at least 18A per you will be good. or a single of 22 or better..

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103929

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194009

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194003

just as examples
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Unless it was mentioned above, the OCZ Powerstream 520W is a very good psu that will run your computer perfectly. Just be prepared to shell out around $130 for it.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

Why pay $130 when you could get the same proformance from a $84 psu that has 30 more watts of power?
__________________

__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.