Power Supplies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2006, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Power Supplies

I'm thinking about getting this new graphics card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133150

But my power supply isn't sufficient. Now the trouble isn't finding a good power supply, but if it's compatible. Does it have to say in the name "PCI EXPRESS"? I thought of this one:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148027

But some of them say "PCI EXPRESS". I have the PCI Express slot, but do I need a power supply that specifies "PCI EXPRESS"?

Sorry for any techie incompetence on my part .

Thanks, you saved me the headache of buying the wrong PSU.

The New Order is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841

Yes you do. Your video card will require a direct connection to the PSU. Therefore, the PSU will need to have that connection.

NathanM is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

usually you get a "molar" to "pci-e" connector...but that one doesn't have one i see....figured they all came with them...guess not.
but yeap...that psu doesn't...

either different psu, or different brand that offers a connector
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

Aspire isn't the best, but its also not the worst.

I would suggest this power supply as the cheapeast 500 watt one.

Antec SmartPower2 500 Watt 69.99$
Ste is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841

I have that PSU and it's great. The nicest feature is it's modular; that means you only have to use the cables you need. Helps with case clutter.
NathanM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.