Power Requirements - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2007, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default Power Requirements

Does anyone know if a 250 watt(263 MAX) PSU can handle this card?

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100174L Radeon X1650PRO 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 AGP 4X/8X CrossFire Support Video Card - Retail
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 08:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Power Requirements

Thats a very tough question but I'm going to say no...ATI cards in general like to take more watts the Nvidia ones.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Power Requirements

no way...it may handle the card alone but not with a cpu/mobo/ram/cdburner/blahblahblah.....i wouldnt try it
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 49
Default Re: Power Requirements

Nop - sorry buddy
__________________
http://www.EnvisionComp.com
CompShack is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Power Requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by will h4x 4 food View Post
yes that power supply itself should be sufficent for your video card. But if you want it to run the system and the card then no
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Test to see if new power supply bad? darsunt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 04-06-2007 11:57 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM
weird power trouble when putting in 2nd hard drive idrisguitar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 11:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.