A possible memory leak - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2015, 06:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
I use a 840 evo and mine was disabled...
Check my edit.

Are you on Win7 or Win8/8.1?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 06:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Check my edit.

Are you on Win7 or Win8/8.1?
Ah sorry, win 7
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 06:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
Ah sorry, win 7
Then that's why - the video I posted explains why .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 06:58 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Then that's why - the video I posted explains why .
Can't see the video / link.. Please post.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 07:03 PM   #25 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: A possible memory leak

I forgot to paste the link, my bad -.-'
https://channel9.msdn.com/Shows/The-...GA#time=05m50s
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 07:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Sry guys but nothing of these helped me. Have you got another idea maybe?
liojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 08:09 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by liojim View Post
Sry guys but nothing of these helped me. Have you got another idea maybe?
You still haven't answered my previous questions.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 08:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
Your all close but like I said, it's a technology (for windows, yes) and it is disabled..

Disable Superfetch & Prefetch for SSD in Windows 8 / 7

Maybe it's different for different ssd's...
Guide is wrong. I've built 3 rigs in the past 6 months each with an SSD in them and every single one is enabled. Every single time I install Windows 8.1 onto my rig (which has 3 SSDs in it) Superfetch is still enabled. Each install I do on a 9470m or 9480m at work it's enabled. Superfetch has been enabled by default since Vista.
Maybe in theory it's supposed to disable, but in practice it's always been enabled. I don't find it to be particularly a bad thing because it doesn't exactly hamper an SSD at all or cause it harm. People just tell you to disable it to save a bit of RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 06:17 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: A possible memory leak

PPMguire which questions? Can you repeat them?
liojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 06:32 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Guide is wrong. I've built 3 rigs in the past 6 months each with an SSD in them and every single one is enabled. Every single time I install Windows 8.1 onto my rig (which has 3 SSDs in it) Superfetch is still enabled. Each install I do on a 9470m or 9480m at work it's enabled. Superfetch has been enabled by default since Vista.
Maybe in theory it's supposed to disable, but in practice it's always been enabled. I don't find it to be particularly a bad thing because it doesn't exactly hamper an SSD at all or cause it harm. People just tell you to disable it to save a bit of RAM.
Hmmm... My PC with 840 EVO has it disabled.. I'm on my work PC now with a crucial MX100 and this is also disabled by default...

Did you optimize your ssd's?
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning to anyone using those Miracles in a bottle. (Rad Stop Leak, Oil stop leak) c0rr0sive Automotives 8 01-25-2011 05:09 PM
Hijacklog Possible memory leak coopsta133 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 11-26-2009 11:28 AM
Possible Memory Leak locke0987 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 09-27-2007 06:06 PM
Fixing Firefox memory leak Trotter Internet Software and Browsers 8 08-22-2006 12:49 PM
Memory Leak?? Shumway Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 07-27-2005 09:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.