A possible memory leak - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2015, 01:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Oh I can add more to that, Chrome uses can let Chrome run in the background so Windows can't wipe it
I disable the option to let Chrome run in the background .
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 01:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 99
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
By default? No it doesn't - only if you disable it manually, or run the SSD software's program to "optimize" usage or something similar. I keep SuperFetch on even with my SSD. RAM is still faster than SSD accessing - that's why a RAMDisk is still faster than an SSD.



Superfetch was introduced with Vista and continued with Win7 and on. Basically what it is, is the OS learns your most used programs and pre-loads them into RAM so that launching them is faster when you close/re-open the application.

If the OS needs the memory space that was pre-allocated to SuperFetch, then it will simply clear that used space and allocate that newly freed up space to the program(s) requesting memory space.

Edit: Ninja'd by PP.
I see that explains it pretty well. So you have to turn that on then?? You said you run that all the time??

Sent from my D6708 using Tapatalk
__________________

nheppeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 01:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I disable the option to let Chrome run in the background .
With a PCI-E SSD, me too.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 01:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by nheppeard View Post
I see that explains it pretty well. So you have to turn that on then?? You said you run that all the time??

Sent from my D6708 using Tapatalk
SuperFetch is enabled by default and runs automatically with the OS, since it's an OS function. There isn't any "manually" running it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 02:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Carnagex I am using windows 8.1 64-bit I don't have a process that starts with my computer(disabled in task manager). I can't find a program that uses a lot of memory and ram is increased as the pc is opened.
liojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 03:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by liojim View Post
Carnagex I am using windows 8.1 64-bit I don't have a process that starts with my computer(disabled in task manager). I can't find a program that uses a lot of memory and ram is increased as the pc is opened.
You have to open the services window.
You can go to the metro (start) menu and click pc settings. On the bottom you'll see an option for control panel. Click that, then in the list click administrative tools, then click services. Scroll down to Superfetch and double click it then click the drop down menu and click disabled. Reboot.

I should also ask what program you're using to scan for virus, and if you've used Malware Bytes yet.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 04:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: A possible memory leak

PP Mguire it is already disabled!! I have tried it another time.
liojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 06:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Your all close but like I said, it's a technology (for windows, yes) and it is disabled..

Disable Superfetch & Prefetch for SSD in Windows 8 / 7

Maybe it's different for different ssd's...
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 06:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
Your all close but like I said, it's a technology (for windows, yes) and it is disabled..

Disable Superfetch & Prefetch for SSD in Windows 8 / 7

Maybe it's different for different ssd's...
It's still enabled on my Win8.1 system with an 850 Evo.

Edit: Seems here's the answer why Win8's Superfetch is different than Win7.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 06:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: A possible memory leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
It's still enabled on my Win8.1 system with an 850 Evo.
I use a 840 evo and mine was disabled...
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning to anyone using those Miracles in a bottle. (Rad Stop Leak, Oil stop leak) c0rr0sive Automotives 8 01-25-2011 05:09 PM
Hijacklog Possible memory leak coopsta133 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 11-26-2009 11:28 AM
Possible Memory Leak locke0987 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 09-27-2007 06:06 PM
Fixing Firefox memory leak Trotter Internet Software and Browsers 8 08-22-2006 12:49 PM
Memory Leak?? Shumway Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 07-27-2005 09:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.