Possible to have two os on one computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2007, 01:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris(France)
Posts: 11
Default Possible to have two os on one computer?

I have been snooping around the web looking for an answer for this question and finally decided that i needed to ask it. I am someone who wants to run Mac OS X Leopard and Windows Vista Home Premium on one laptop. I have been reading posts on different forums talking about having two hard drives and installing one OS on each hard drive. I have also heard about partitioning the drive. But after many hours spent trying different keywords on Google i still have no idea how to do it. If anyone happens to know how could you please tell me because i am quite befuddled.
__________________

trmiller is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Possible to have two os on one computer?

You can only put Mac OS X on macs and vista on pc's... unless you use some sort of emulator. Yes you can run multiple os's on one computer by dual booting (such as linux and XP which is what I current have), but not OS X and vista.
__________________

__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris(France)
Posts: 11
Default Re: Possible to have two os on one computer?

Thanks.
trmiller is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Possible to have two os on one computer?

You might not be out of luck just yet.

That Leopard OS was supposedly cracked to run on PC's. Maybe a Google search will reveal more about it.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.