Possible Graphics Card Update - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2010, 06:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Possible Graphics Card Update

I usually will not pay more for a factory overclocked card. I would save the cash and OC it yourself if needed.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 10:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Possible Graphics Card Update

Hefe, you keep saying 4870 but he was talking about the 4890.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 12:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Possible Graphics Card Update

Well yes you are correct. Stupid naming methods. I guess it is not as bad as i7's with 2 different sockets but I digress.

DX11 or a faster card for $30ish more. I think I would still go 5770.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 05:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Possible Graphics Card Update

Lol! I didn't even pick up on that. So is the 4890 better than the 4890? Were you talking about the 4890 but just got the numbers wrong?

So I assume your recommending the XFX HD 5770 (Juniper XT) then?

Also I looked at the Graphics Performance List thats posted and them seems like the new nVidia cards are the top, but they wont be compatible with my machine? Is that correct?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 01:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Possible Graphics Card Update

All of my original statements were referring to the 4870 except my last post. The 4890 is faster than the 5770 but is a dx10 card versus a dx11 card.

double checks numbers. darn a 7 can look like a 9 when reading fast.

You are correct about the card I would recommend.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 11:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Possible Graphics Card Update

Ok no worries, I will look at getting the 5770 when I get the money.

If I was to wait for the 5850 to come down, would that be compatible?

Also you mentioned my CPU might hold me back. Are the new CPU's compatible or are they a whole new socket?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 12:12 AM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Possible Graphics Card Update

LGA775 is still viable, even though Intel has brought out the 1366 and 1155 sockets.

Your motherboard can run Core2Quads up to a Q9650 with a BIOS update (1236).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
* Looking for new Graphics Card for my ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE 3800+ motherboard * Newbie05 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-22-2009 12:29 AM
Noobie - Anyone know what kind of Ram I take?! Kemperz System Upgrades 8 06-21-2009 11:59 PM
help with graphics card mastapanda82 System Upgrades 17 06-13-2009 05:15 PM
Graphics Card Issues HobbesUK Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 02-27-2009 09:49 PM
graphics card issues LostAcres Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-27-2008 09:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.