Possible build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 03:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

does he already have DDR ram?

if not i recommend going to socket AM2, pretty much no price difference, but better upgradeability.

oh and the 3500+ is only a couple of dollars more than the 3200+, so i recommend that; UNLESS - by end of july prices of dual cores drop to the price of single cores, then you'd have to get a dual core! the cheapest crummiest AMD dual core would still be a great processor - so anything dual core would be best!
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 09:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
Yeah, He's got a good vid card and PSU if I'm not mistaken. I'm thinking of telling him to get the Asus A8N MoBo too because I'm gonna be the one building this thing and from what I hear DFI motherboards are a pain in the *** to set up.
see how fast n00b complaints travel.........its not a pain in the a55 to configure if u no wat ur doing. anywayz......u'll want to change the hd to SATA and thats bout it. and maybe a good well known case, with decent airflow, and btw that CPU on newegg is $99 i believe. so yeah its cheap, and a great OC'er
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Then perhaps I'll tell him to get a PSU too. Shouldn't be hard to dig one up locally anyway, I've got quite a few friends with a ridiculous amount of old computers and computer parts. Thanks for the help everyone so far. Also, it's not about someone being a "n00b" (besides if you're going to insult other people you might want to learn how to use proper grammar atleast) I would just rather go with the Asus board and not spend hours putting in a bunch of voltage settings and whatever else. The asus board has all the same features and is just as good for the same price but alot more user friendly so I see it as the way to go, it's more me being lazy if anything
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.