Plz Help,,, Severe Hardware Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2006, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Angry Plz Help,,, Severe Hardware Problem

Don't know what to do!!! Just recent I decide to build me a new PC since my old box is NOT meeting my needs. Well so I started reading different sites and choose my hardware. I ordered a MAXTOR 300 gig hard drive and it arrived non-working. They let me take it to my local store to swap and I was cool with that. Well guess what!! Got that one home and AGAIN it doesn't work. I really need this box up and running ASAP and I don't know what to do with these folks at Best Buy. I tried calling the number on the web site earlier tonight and I cussed up a storm but didn't really help.

joebubby is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

Return it and exchange it for whatever you can get from Seagate.

Maxtor is known for their unreliability.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 04:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405

Originally posted by Trotter
Return it and exchange it for whatever you can get from Seagate.

Maxtor is known for their unreliability.
Maxtor is frown upon, sounds like yoiu got a bit of a dog but my maxtor works fine & i have never had any problems
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70

Your problem stems from buying from Best Buy in the first place. Find you a local store that sells strictly computers and computer parts and purchase a HDD from them. Ask them to test it before you leave the store.

My system: (updated)
AMD 64 X2 4400+ (Fast!)
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gigs OCZ DDR400/PC 3200 (Fast!)
WD Raptor 150gb SATA 10,000rpm
WD 250gig X 2 RAID 0
Thermaltake Tai-Chi case with W/C
BFG Tech Nvidia 7800GTX X 2 SLI\'d
<b>\"If everyone is thinking alike, then someone isn\'t thinking.\"</b> --General George S. Patton
Techguru75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.